Sign Up

Dance 48 Performances

This is a past event.

Saturday, March 12, 2022 7:30pm

141 East 12th Street, Holland, MI 49423-3607

View map

The Department of Dance at Hope College will present its major annual concert, Dance 48 this year, on Friday and Saturday, March 4 and 5, and Thursday-Saturday, March 10-12, at 7:30 p.m. in the DeWitt Center main theatre.

The annual concert features work that has been choreographed by members of the dance faculty and guest artists, with Hope dance students performing.  Developed around the theme “Live,” this year’s event marks a return to in-person performance following the 2021 concert’s presentation as films shared online.  As explained by the department, “The title purposefully has a dual meaning — we are excited to be presenting our first live faculty concert in two years. We celebrate life, living and perseverance!”

The program will feature seven works in styles including authentic jazz/tap, contemporary/modern, jazz/theatre, contemporary ballet, and contemporary movement blended with country dance patterns. The choreographers are guest artists Sharon Wong and Linda Graham, and faculty members Kara Brems, Heather Cornell, Lindsey Hanson, Jasmine Mejia and Julie Powell.  Wong is an internationally renowned dance educator who is a visiting member of Hope dance faculty, and Graham is a professor emerita of dance at Hope who retired in 2019 after teaching at the college since 1983.

Lighting design will be by Erik Alberg, sound design by Ken Chamberlain and costumes by Darlene K. Veenstra. Approximately 60 Hope students will perform, with about 20 others working on technical and costume crews.



Three Takes on Monk

Choreographer:  Heather Cornell

Dancers: Marco Charbonneau,  Alexis Erickson, Kirsten Miskowski, Zoie McGuyer, Morgan Mohler, Jillian Reitzel 

Understudy: Chloe Yonkus

Musicians: Leah Reinardy (music director, piano), Dylan Sherman (bass), 

Carlos Flores (drums), Houston Patton (sax; March 4, 5, 10, 11), Matthew Patton (sax; March 4, 12), Gretchen Woell (vocals; March 10, 11, 12)

Music:  “Misterioso”, “Well You Needn’t”, “In Walked Bud”

Composed by: Thelonious Monk

Arranged by: Heather Cornell and Leah Reinardy



Choreographer: Kara Madden Brems in collaboration with the dancers

(I) Too little

Dancers: Jordan Dillabough, Leah Fritts, Catherine Jarboe, Mackenzie Kellogg, Maddie Korff, Hannah Mckee, Abby Rentfrow, Karsyn Schrag, Elayna Sitzman, Haley Soderbloom, Greta Sorensen, Miranda Stepchuk

Music: “Après un Rêve, Op. 7 No. 1” (arranged for piano and cello), written by Gabriel Fauré, performed by Mari Kodama & Matt Haimovitz

(II) Too much

Duet: Haley Soderbloom & Karsyn Schrag (Mar. 4, 10-12)

Abby Rentfrow & Maddie Korff (Mar. 5)

Corps: Jordan Dillabough, Catherine Jarboe, Mackenzie Kellogg, Elayna Sitzman, Greta Sorensen, Miranda Stepchuk

Music: “No One But You” written by Chris Thile, Edgar Meyer, Stuart Duncan; performed by Aoife O’Donovan, Chris Thile, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer, Yo-Yo Ma

(III) Enough

Dancers: Jordan Dillabough, Leah Fritts, Catherine Jarboe, Mackenzie Kellogg, Maddie Korff, Abby Rentfrow, Karsyn Schrag, Elayna Sitzman, Haley Soderbloom, Greta Sorensen, Miranda Stepchuk

Understudy: Hannah Mckee

Music: “Waiting” written and performed by Brianna Tam


Choreographer: Lindsey Hanson


Zoey Cappatocio, Seanna DeWitt, Maggie Hartman, Fara Ling, Hannah McGrew, Sloane Provost, Shannon Rodriguez, Sophia Truit

Dance Captain: Fara Ling 


I. Schumann 432-3 Solar Plexus, Confidence by 369

 II. Schumann 432-6 Pineal Third Eye Chakra by 369

III. Depravity (Soop Remix) Instrumental by Norman Sann


Three Stages in the Life of a Winged Creature

Unfurl  Music: "Vispolska" composed and Performed by Hedningarna, Courtesy of Silence Records and Concord Music


Choreographer: M. Linda Graham


Kailoni Christian, Stacy Devine, Allison Fulton, Beata Huntington, Mackenzie Kalinowski, Claire Knodel, Taryn Meyer, Emma Walilko

Guest appearance: Cindy Alberg

 Footed     Music: “Vigstamoin” traditional, performed by Danish String Quartet

[Transition: Suspire]

 Unfurl    Music: “Vispolska” composed & performed by Hedningarna  
Fly      Music: “Groove”  composed & performed by Otava Yo




Pieces of HER

Choreographer: Julie Powell

Music:  “Clouds, The Mind on the (Re)Wind” Ezio Bosso 

Dancers: Maureen Cole, Emma de Vries, Isabella Ensworth, Evann Fischer, 

  Anna Hammond, Ally McIntosh, Harlee Scholton


All Foam, No Content

Choreographer: Jasmine Mejia in collaboration with the dancers 

Dancers: Anna Harrell , Abby Mains, Gillian Skiba, Cali Smith,

Molly Vonk

Music: 5_130 by Michael Wall and Darren Morze

Costume Design: Darlene Veenstra

Lighting Design: Erik Alberg

Understudy: Madeleine Popp


“Let The Shenanigans Begin”

Choreographer: Sharon Wong

Dancers: Jennifer Almquist, Kylea Canada, Mylee Graham, Mackenzie Korff, Vivien Mickels, Olivia Ravell, Brenden Trojan, Madeline Williams

Music: Love Is The Message by MFSB

                                                   Props: Darlene Veenstra and Brenden Trojan

Rehearsal Assistant: Sara Harris

Tickets are $10 for regular admission; $7 for senior citizens and Hope faculty and staff; and free for Hope College students and for children 18 and under. Tickets are available at the Events and Conferences Office located in downtown Holland in the Anderson-Werkman Financial Center (100 E. Eighth St.). The ticket office is open weekdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and can be reached at 616-395-7890. Tickets can also be purchased online at

Audience members who need assistance to fully enjoy any event at Hope are encouraged to contact the college’s Events and Conferences Office by emailing or calling 616-395-7222 on weekdays between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Updates related to events are posted when available in the individual listings at

Due to the ongoing global COVID-19 pandemic, Hope is currently requiring that masks be worn by all individuals while indoors on campus unless in their living space or alone in their work space.

User Activity

No recent activity

Hope College Calendar Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved